Electric Glass – Remixing Philip Glass Metamorphosis

Electric Glass

Upcoming album recomposing and re-imagining Solo Piano (1989) an album of piano music composed by Philip Glass. The album includes:

1. Metamorphosis One

2. Metamorphosis Two

3. Metamorphosis Three

4. Metamorphosis Four

5. Metamorphosis Five

6. Mad Rush

7. Wichita Vortex Sutra

The title of five of the seven tracks, “Metamorphosis”, refers to and was inspired by the 1915 novella The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. While all pieces were written in 1988, some were written for a staging of Metamorphosis, while others were for the 1988 documentary film The Thin Blue Line directed by Errol Morris. “Mad Rush” was written in 1979 and is based on an earlier organ piece; it has been used by choreographers Lucinda Childs and Benjamin Millepied. The title of the last composition is a reference to Allen Ginsberg’s 1966 poem “Wichita Vortex Sutra”, and was composed, in collaboration with Ginsberg, for both a reading and recording of the poem.